Traverse AmericaTraverse America

Latin America Travel & Tour Information

South America>

Bolivian Travel Information

country overview

How would any person feel before the immensity of the Bolivian surroundings? What sort of sensations would meditation on Bolivia's clay stones produce, lost amid an endless surrealistic landscape whose monochromatic spectrum is only sliced by the deep blue sky? How enriched is a traveler after such an experience in the arid Siloli Dessert that ends up in the fantastic spectacle of a colorful lagoon? All the answers lie within the country at South America's heart, in the mystic lands of Bolivia

Collasuyo is one of the four regions of the ancient powerful Inca Empire, today it is called Bolivia. Its past is an inseparable part of it present identity. Either on Lake Titicaca dotted with reed canoes going about for millenniums on end, or on the streets of Potosí, you will hear the rough but sweet sound of the 'sikus', played somewhere close by an Aymara Indian. 

The Republic of Bolivia is simply amazing. On the one hand, there is everything you already know: a country devoid of sea access, and with two capitals: La Paz and Sucre. It borders with Brazil, Paraguay, Peru, Argentina and Chile and hosts a diverse climate and ecosystems along its geography, distributed among the Altiplano, valleys, yungas (warm lands along the Andes), the Amazon flatlands and the mountain ranges; all in all, a multicultural country of great archeological wealth. But on the other hand, away from statistics, Bolivia treasures things that can only be discover by going deep into it.

The Inca legacy melted into the Spanish conquest, and inturn, the founding of the Republic, which is all reflected in the architecture and in the prevailing cultural and artistic trends. Cities, villages and aboriginal ruins are embraced by an extraordinary magic and incomparable nature. For this reason, six Bolivian sites were nominated for the World's Seven Natural Wonders.

Pando, Potosí, Santa Cruz, Beni, La Paz, Cochabamba, Tarija, Oruro and Sucre are the nine departments in which the territory is divided, a land that worships the Pachamama (Mother Earth). These regions treasure remarkable cities, lakes and lagoons, pre-Columbian roads, the great Salt Flats of Uyuni, thermal sources and geysers, 'Noel Kempff Mercado' National Park, the Seven Waterfalls, SPAs, the impressive ruins at Tiwanaku, snow-capped mountains, desserts, the stunning Lake Titicaca, the Island of the Sun and ancient Jesuit missions still at work. The sight-seeing potential is just enormous, so now you must make your visit!

Bolivia Tours Coming Soon!

Bolivia hotels coming soon!

Uyuni Salt Bolivia
La Paz City
Tiwanaco Ruins Bolivia
Traverse America

(+55) 45 3027 4157